Managing Participants (mute and ban students)

As a teacher, you have some extra control over participants to make the class run smoothly. All teachers are automatically assigned the "Leader" role in a lesson. Leading Mode is automatically enabled and something we recommend keeping enabled for most lessons. 

There are a couple of important things you can do to manage participants as a leader. 

1. Mute Students

Is there too much noise coming from a student? No problem, simply select that student to mute their mic for the rest of the class.

2. Turn off students' video. 

In a similar manner, it's easy to turn off a student's video, by stopping their video feed.

3. Ask students to unmute or resume video feed.  

Perhaps a student is muted or has turned off their video. You can then request that the students either unmute or resume their video feed. It is a great way to make it very easy for the student to enable their mic or video again.

4. Disallow student editing (i.e. enable Read-Only mode) 

As a Leader, you can also make the entire Space read-only, which essentially means that no students can make any edits. This is especially useful if you'd like to prevent students from drawing on the whiteboard and keep them focused while you are displaying something to them.

5. Ban and unban students from lessons.

On a rare occasion, you might need to permanently ban a student from a Space for whatever reason. It is possible to ban users from a Space. These students will never be able to join the Space again unless you go to your banned users and unban them.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us